#17619 by stuart101
01 Feb 2007, 15:48
Well i was finally off to Accra for the first time. I am part of a new business there and had managed to avoid going for the part 2 years but now was the time.....

T4 was very busy, lots of people trying to escape before the strike, i had already checked in on line but you are not able to print your boarding pass on this route so still had to go to the desk. The staff were very helpful and efficient wishing me a nice trip.

Security was a pain as ever but that is life. I have never used T4 before and was surprised how small the gate areas were. Called to gate 1A and then a trek to yet another holding area where we had to wait for the busses to take us out to the aircraft. Finally the busses arrived, staff checked that the aircraft was ready and we were off, only to get out to the aircraft and have to wait another 15 minutes before being allowed on. Given that this was at the time the last Accra flight before the strike it was only two thirds full. Sat comfortably in 27B (emergency exit row) and shortly got chatting to a very nice crew member. She had been called in off standby, she had been given 45 minutes to get from the hotel to the aircraft. She was not told where she was going and still at that point didn't know when she was coming back! SHe also told me that the big problem with this work is that she has to have a case packed and ready with clothing for any long haul destination. She commented that she hadn't brought many clothes for a hot country so would have to go shopping when she reached Accra.

Flight took off 25 minutes late, and turned due south for the duration of the flight. Two drinks rounds before lunch was served, the London pride Bitter went down very well. Food was what you expect from an economy flight, pasta and bolognaise sauce, Smoked salmon salad and Apple pie and custard. Wine offered with the meal and coffee after (which was tasteless).