This is the main V-Flyer Forum for general discussion of everything related to flying with Virgin-branded travel companies.
#935460 by borolap
24 May 2017, 12:41
An absolute newbie here, both on this forum and travelling UC, very excited and would like some tips on how to best enjoy the experience (keep having nightmares that I sleep all the way), there are 5 of us in total 4 adults and an 8 year old, also wondered if anybody knows the likelihood of having a 747 as opposed to a 330 (new refit or not current seat plan config A330 1-1-1) but I have looked on the VA website and it appears that the Monday flight (which we are on) is often a 747 and the Thursday flight is a 330, anybody got any experience???

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
#935476 by Sealink
24 May 2017, 20:15
I have no problems with the A330 at all, but I have heard that the 747 is a more intimate cabin.

My main advice is to maximise your Clubhouse time ...
#935493 by Smid
25 May 2017, 08:47
Barbados is unusual in the bucket and spade routes in that it often gets a heathrow higher density plane due to its popularity. So if you get a 747, you should (as far as I'm aware there are no Heathrow VS 747s anymore) get a Gatwick 14 seat Upper 747.

If you get the 330, the older ones are 1-2-1 config, before the refurb, the new ones 1-1-1. The older ones felt cramped with narrow aisles, the newer ones are supposed to be better (my upcoming flights keeps switching, so not sure if I will see the new ones). But since they are typically Heathrow, there will be a lot more seats and I've often found the Heathrow Upper flights a lot worse servicewise, purely because there's a lot more to do, and there's often not that many more staff..

So hope for a 747, but if you have a 330, hope for the 1-1-1. If not, still enjoy it, it's not awful, just could be a better plane...
#935495 by mitchja
25 May 2017, 09:01
Welcome to V-Flyer :-D