For all non-Virgin travel topics, with subforums for popular common themes.
#911263 by Maximus
08 Oct 2015, 11:41
We are thinking of using Uber to transport us from Heathrow to Central London and back on our next trip, as we are spending a couple of nights in town before we head off to Vegas. I have never used them before.

There seem to be different types of car you can request X, XL, Exec, Lux, Taxi. I cannot find anything online that tells me what each category of car actually is. There are 2 passengers and likely 3 medium/large and 2 small carryon cases. Anyone used Uber who could advise?

Edit:

Scrub that, just found this:

UberX: The least expensive Uber service. Seats 4 riders. Drivers use everyday cars that are 2000 or newer
UberXL: Seats at least 6 passengers. An UberXL car will be an SUV or a Minivan. Higher fare price than UberX
UberEXEC: A luxury vehicle that seats up to 4 riders. Be expecting an Audi, BMW, Mercedes, etc with a leather interior
UberTAXI: Uber’s recently launched actual London Black Cab labelled as Uber

i guess we will need an XL
#911270 by joeyc
08 Oct 2015, 13:46
I've used Uber in many cities and countries - always a good ride and I would highly recommend them. Although, the main company that I use for my airport transfers is BlackLane; it is a prebook service, the cars are great and there is the added perk that they will be waiting for you as opposed to the other way around with Uber. They have a cool app too.

Uber is great as a taxi service in towns and cities, but for airport transfers I do prefer to prebook. YMMV of course.

UberX from LHR will probably be a Prius and I am not sure if it would fit all of your luggage comfortably. Of course it is possible, but the UberXL would be the safer bet.
#911673 by stuart_f
15 Oct 2015, 23:45