For all non-Virgin travel topics, with subforums for popular common themes.
#917937 by Hev60
25 Feb 2016, 11:36
I have been travelling to the US since 1990 and I cannot recall over all these years the dollar rate being so low. Marks & Spencer are offering $1.34 this morning :-O

It's going to make an awful lot of family Easter hols very expensive this year :-(
#917938 by slinky09
25 Feb 2016, 11:57
I know :-( but all to do with the UK's attitude to the EU at the moment unfortunately,
#917942 by oldboy
25 Feb 2016, 13:20
I am not so worried on getting less US$ for my pounds on USA holiday visit next month, much more of an issue in the business where most of our products are manufactured in China & purchased in US$.
#917943 by Sunseeker
25 Feb 2016, 13:26
I have been going to the USA since early eighties (yes I know that makes old ) I have got as much as $2.46 to the pound and have got as low as $1.34still this years trip is August so hopefully will go up a bit before that
#917949 by dickydotcom
25 Feb 2016, 13:43
    I am there now and fortunately planned ahead and bought my money at $1.70
    But I'm using my card for fuel. Unleaded petrol $1.46 a gallon. That still feels cheap to me.
    I drove from Orlando to South Carolina, 345 miles for about £15

Dick D
    #917962 by Bretty
    25 Feb 2016, 16:27
    I haven't been travelling to the US quite as long as some of you, dare I say 'old timers', but I'm used to averaging around $1.50, sometimes a little more, to the £. I'm travelling in 10 weeks so I'm holding on to see if the rates get better. By now we would have normally got our cash ready, but I wouldn't let my OH do it.
    #917964 by Eggtastico
    25 Feb 2016, 16:47
    Believe it is the lowest its been since mid 80s

Taking a bashing on the EURO as well.

Lets hope trump wins! It will soon reverse! 8-)
    #917968 by pjh
    25 Feb 2016, 18:23
    dickydotcom wrote:
      I am there now and fortunately planned ahead and bought my money at $1.70