This is the main V-Flyer Forum for general discussion of everything related to flying with Virgin-branded travel companies.
#248 by LAX21
11 Feb 2004, 02:46
Hi everybody,

it's my first time here, actually i've been watching all the posts for two weeks now, since i first discovered this wonderful forum :)

I will be making a flight in May from LAX to LHR and rt. inbound VS 8 and outbound VS 23, on PE upper deck, and really looking forward to it! I hope i can get emergency exit-row seats at the airport, tho, being 6'4" and all... :)

I am a little concerned, I know usually you're not supposed to do this for your own good, but I had to buy two separate tickets for two separate airlines, because of the price difference compared to regular ticketing, and also since it was the only way I could fly and enjoy VS. I bought the VS ticket LAX-LHR, and then I bough a separate ticket for RO LHR-OTP. The thing is, VS 8 is scheduled to arrive LHR at 11:45am, and my connecting flight to OTP is scheduled to depart LHR at 12:30pm. Given the fact that you all here are more experienced with flying different airlines and making connections (especially thru LHR, security, etc.), what do you think my chances are to actually make it in time to the other terminal and for my other flight, and what suggestions you might have for me?

Thanks,
Chris
#25682 by Pete
11 Feb 2004, 05:04
*Ouch* 45 mins to clear the aircraft, security, baggage & check in for a flight to Romania? I would suggest that's never going to work. The connecting flight will probably be closing just as you hit the tarmac on VS08.

That said, the eastbound flights into LHR are generally early, but I wouldn't count on it. Is there no later flight you could catch?

Pix
#25683 by LAX21
11 Feb 2004, 07:22